Qualifying Schedule Released for the 2019 Miami Open presented by Itaú

By Tucker Verdi

Eugenie Bouchard, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, and Reilly Opelka are just a few of the big names in action on Day 1 of the Miami Open during qualifying.

The 25-year-old Bouchard, who is slowly but surely working her back into the form that took her into the 2014 Wimbledon final and a top-5 ranking, will take on Japanese player Nao Hibino. The Canadian has climbed back into the top 100 and claimed her first WTA title since 2014 — a doubles title with Sofia Kenin at the ASB Classic in Auckland, earlier this year.

Tsonga, the runner-up at the 2008 Australian Open who has reached the quarterfinal stage or better of every Grand Slam, faces Lukas Rosol in the first round of qualifying. The 33-year-old Frenchman, who has Grand Slam wins against each of the Big Four and is known for his boisterous on-court personality, is working his way back from a knee injury that ended his 2018 campaign in February and saw him miss three of the year’s four majors.

Opelka headlines a large contingent of young Americans in qualifying. There are 18 in total — nine women and eight men, and Opelka is the highest-seeded player among them at No. 3. The 21-year-old American, who stands somewhere between 6’11” and 7’0” and took down a similarly-towering John Isner at the first major of the year in Melbourne, goes up against Henri Laaksonen of Switzerland.

Other Americans scheduled to play are Jennifer Brady, Mackenzie McDonald, Ryan Harrison, Taylor Townsend, and Christina McHale.

In other notable Women’s Qualifying, tour mainstay Kaia Kanepi, who has reached six Grand Slam quarterfinals in her career, will face Paula Badosa Gibert. Kristyna Plíšková, the twin sister of No. 5 seed Karolina Plíšková, will face Ana Bogdan. Tímea Babos, who has reached six Grand Slam doubles finals and won the 2018 Australian Open women’s doubles title, will face Stefanie Vögele.

In other notable Men’s Qualifying matches, 15-year tour veteran and French Open doubles champion in 2008 Pablo Cuevas will take on Egor Gerasimov. Dan Evans, a member of Britain’s 2015 Davis Cup-winning team, will take on Tatsuma Ito. Andrey Rublev, last year’s finalist here in men’s doubles alongside Karen Khachanov, will take on American Jared Donaldson.

Qualifying begins Monday and continues Tuesday. Check out the draws and get your tickets here today!